My first Con

This Saturday my boyfriend and I attended Supercon here in Miami. It was the first Con & definitely won’t be the last. We both had an amazing time and will be attending annually. We got a later start on the day than we had hoped and didn’t get there until around 1 pm  but stayed until almost 3am! I know, madness! Parking and traffic was a disaster so we had to park a bit far which wouldn’t have been too bad if we had worn proper shoes. For some reason I was determined to wear my new gray converse instead of my running shoes. I yelled at myself for that the next morning.

After walking 10 minutes in the hot/humid Miami weather and finally making it into the convention center we stepped into HUGE crowds. This was slightly expected since we chose Saturday but it kind of felt too packed. My anxiety got to me a bit. The center was extremely hot due to all the people crammed into one space. The whole time you were plastered against someone trying to get around. Being that I’m only 5’0 ft my face was almost plastered against someone’s sweaty back countless time.  We had met up with 3 of our friends who were dragging us around to look for the rest of the group but luckily my boyfriend noticed I was getting a bit overwhelmed and annoyed with having to push and shove through hot sticky crowds so we both escaped upstairs to artist alley which luckily was MUCH less crowded. Artist alley was one of the main things I was looking forward to. Eventually the crowds started making their way upstairs too and the first floor became easier to maneuver.

We didn’t attend any signings or big pannels. We mostly just walked around checking out all the booths, costumes etc. At one point when our feet were screaming we decided to duck into a room where they were showing episodes from different British TV shows and we ended up watching parts of the first 2 episodes of Red Dwarf circa. 1988. They were also showing Torch Wood and other stuff but we didn’t want to spend the day sitting in a room watching shows. We didn’t go in with a plan of what exactly we wanted to see and do so we did miss some pretty cool things. Overall for it being our first Con adventure and not properly planning we still had an amazing time. Next year we’ll be going in with a plan and hopefully I’ll be cosplaying. I was bummed that I barely saw any Steampunk Cosplay. I saw one awesome Steampunk Bane but that was pretty much it. There was a good amount of Doctor Who cosplay and stuff to buy though. It definitely was more anime/manga influenced. I also didn’t charge my phone before we went so I didn’t get any pictures.

Right so future pointers for attending a CON:

1. Comfy shoes/clothes. Breathable clothes that you wont feel like you’re suffocating in. Possibly a light sweater because some of the smaller rooms might get a bit chilly. I never found these rooms while I was there but it’s a possibility.

2. A good messenger/canvas bag to carry things you buy or even possibel freebies.

3. Get there early to avoid parking disasters, long lines, and big crowds

4. Snacks and water bottles.(Luckily out friends had a cooler with Gatorade/soda in his car along with some snacks. We ended up all walking to his car to refuel on. It Definitely helped) Also food there is very overpriced so eat a good meal before and have a enough snacks to hold you off until you leave.

5. Park close. That way you can run to the car to drop off things you’re tired of carrying or to re stock on snacks.

6. Fully charged phone. To take lots of pictures and call/text the people you’re with if you get separated.

7. Carry travel size deodorant and/or body spray. You will sweat. Don’t punish everyone around you with your body odor. Hygiene is key.

8. If you get sick easily take something like Airborne before you go. Hand sanitizer is your friend too! Again, germs, small areas, rubbing up against random humans.

9. Make a plan before you go. Decide on what things you don’t want to miss and make note on the times they start so you’re not running all over the place trying to make it. Some events get packed QUICK so if you know it’s popular get there ahead of time.

This post feels too long so pictures of the art will be in a separate post.

Leave a Reply

